How meditation has evolved – From spiritual approach to the development of human skills

Danis Bois, June 6th. 2022

How meditation has evolved – From spiritual approach to the development of human skills

Over the last ten years, meditation has evolved from being seen as a spiritual discipline to a cognitive activity able to bring about a range of benefits fitting within humanistic, ecological and natural health trends.

Modern meditation claims to be a secular activity aimed at improving human skills and focusing on mental acts destined to master and control thoughts, emotions and more humane behaviour (everyone wants to improve their human qualities). It is supported by science, particularly neuroscience. Scientific literature on the benefits of meditation on physical and mental health, and on cognitive performance is abundant today.

DBM (Danis Bois Method) Full-Presence Meditation® fits clearly within humanistic thought and the neurosciences of education and is a logical extension of my academic career (doctorate in the science of education, aggrégation in psychoeducation and university professor in human and social sciences).

Medication stimulates human qualities (such as empathy, altruism and benevolence) as well as cognitive, perceptual, relational and behavioural abilities.  In this perspective, Full-Presence Meditation® develops multiple skills and stimulates dormant qualities through a particular style of teaching that mobilizes educative and existential issues at stakes.

Full-Presence Meditation® is linked to humanistic thought and fits within the psychoeducation field, with an emphasis on perception, motivation and action.  Since 2018, I have developed in my masterclasses a step-by-step method, known as Full-Presence Educational Process, as a response to the need for educative, experiential and existential perspectives leading towards more humanity and human warmth.

A brief review of the characteristics of Full-Presence Meditation®

In my latest book, Full-Presence Meditation – The Seven Ways to Access Human Warmth (Eyrolles), I have presented the characteristics of our approach. By characteristics I mean the novative aspects of Full-Presence Meditation® in relation to other forms of meditation, most particularly to Mindfulness meditation.

There are many similarities with Mindfulness meditation that are complementary in the sense that to be fully aware, we need to first be fully present. We perceive before we become conscious, and not the other way around.  And this illustrates the importance of perception and sensoriality in Full-Presence Meditation® , in relation to Mindfulness which puts more emphasis on consciousness. (Translator note: This paragraph makes reference to the use of the term ‘Pleine Conscience’ as the French term used for the translation for Mindfulness)

Conceptual characteristics of Full-Presence Meditation®

For us perception has primacy over consciousness (not the other way around) and the notion of presence has wider implication than temporality as it emphasises the relational dimension of presence. Consciousness is cognitive by nature, whereas presence is relational and in this way gives acts of consciousness a qualitative and humane dimension. The conceptual characteristics are varied and I refer you to the book mentioned below to explore this approach further.-

Paradigmatic characteristics of Full-Presence Meditation®

Our approach is clearly rooted in humanistic thought, educational neuroscience, and phenomenology in that it emphasizes the study of the experience as lived by the meditator and the hermeneutics that follow from it (making sense of the lived experience). In line with these different currents, Full-Presence Meditation® also sees itself as educative in nature as it accompanies meditators to develop their capacities, resources, and skills to learn from their immediate experience, from their life, and from Life.

Experiential characteristics of Full-Presence Meditation®

We envisage experience from the perspective of the humanistic movement, particularly in terms of empathy, benevolence and “actualizing tendency” (Rogers). There is within each of us an innate process that leads us towards the positive realization of our own potential. But beyond this important dimension that leads us to express the best version of ourselves, the experiential dimension carries for us a strong connotation of learning: How can we learn from the lived experience of the meditation and bring into our daily life what was emerged during the meditation? We consider that the inner movement is the living and embodied manifestations of the actualizing tendency. The presence of the inner movement at the heart of the lived experience of meditators is the specific feature of Full-Presence Meditation® .

Teaching characteristics of Full-Presence Meditation®

The concepts and practices related to the learning process proposed in Full-Presence Meditation® are generically referred to as the Full-Presence Educational Process. The step-by-step process used is a specific feature of Full-Presence Meditation® .

The incremental nature of this methodology is based on a standard sequence known as stepping, which is a set of tasks (exercises) to be carried out in a particular order and chronology from simplest to most elaborate, stimulating higher abilities along the way. This teaching strategy takes into account the degree of accessibility of the tasks to be achieved and the natural abilities of learners to execute them.

Evaluation grid of accessibility criteria (Danis Bois 2022)

Evaluating task in relation to degree of:Evaluating learners’ ability in relation to
Feasibility (easy to complex)
Objective and/or subjective criteria
Ability to control or not
Attention stimulation (low to high)
Level of awareness required (low to high)
Quality of presence engaged (low to high)  
Their ability to execute the task alone or with help
Their inability to execute the task even with help
The flexibility of their attention (ability to adapt to the exercise)
The speed of mastery of the task with help or autonomously

Learning to meditate and to learn from your meditation

Danis Bois holds a PhD in the Science of Education and has been meditated for over 40 years. He is co-author of « La méditation pleine présence, les 7 voies d’accès à la chaleur humaine » published by Eyrolles in France. (A translation in English is available online – Full-Presence Meditation : The Seven Ways to Access Human Warmth).

Danis Bois facilitates a weekly meditation online (with live interpretation in English) opened to anyone with an interest in meditation. The next term runs from 14 September to 7 December 2022 and podcasts are then available for a year. You can register on this site at meditate live with Danis Bois.

To learn how to meditate step by step in 8 weeks, sign up at POSBAM by contacting a coach registered with the register.

Leave a Comment

Évolution du statut de la méditation : de la démarche spirituelle au développement de compétences humaines

Danis Bois, le 6 juin 2022

Évolution du statut de la méditation : de la démarche spirituelle au développement de compétences humaines

L’évolution du statut de la méditation depuis 10 ans est passée du statut de discipline spirituelle à celui d’activité cognitive capable d’apporter une série de bienfaits incluant des tendances humaniste, écologique et de santé naturelle.

La méditation moderne se revendique de la laïcité visant le perfectionnement des compétences humaines et privilégiant les actes mentaux ciblés sur la maîtrise et le contrôle de la pensée, des émotions et des comportements humanisés (tout le monde désire améliorer ses qualités humaines). Elle se réfère à la science et en particulier aux neurosciences. La littérature scientifique abordant les bienfaits de la méditation sur la santé physique et mentale, et sur les performances cognitives est aujourd’hui foisonnante.

La méditation pleine présence Méthode Danis Bois (MDB) se revendique clairement de l’approche humaniste et des neurosciences éducatives et s’inscrit logiquement dans mon parcours universitaire (doctorat en sciences de l’éducation, agrégation en psychopédagogie et professeur d’université en sciences humaines et sociales).

Méditer sollicite des qualités humaines (empathie, altruisme, bienveillance…), mais aussi des capacités cognitives, perceptives, relationnelles et comportementales. Dans cette perspective, la méditation pleine présence déploie des compétences multiples et stimule des qualités dormantes qui demandent une pédagogie particulière pour dynamiser les enjeux éducatifs et existentiels sollicités.

La méditation pleine présence se situe dans le courant humaniste et de la psychopédagogie de la perception, de la motivation et de l’action. La pédagogie du pas à pas (step by step) ou Full-Presence Educational Process que je déploie dans mes masters class depuis 2018 répond aux perspectives, éducative expérientielle et existentielle visant à plus d’humanité et de chaleur humaine.

Bref rappel des spécificités de la méditation pleine présence

J’ai présenté dans mon livre, La méditation pleine présence, les sept voies d’accès à la chaleur humaine » (Eyrolles), les différentes spécificités de notre approche. J’entends par spécificités les aspects novateurs de la MPP par rapport aux autres formes de méditation et notamment par rapport à la méditation pleine conscience.

Nous avons de nombreux points de convergence avec la méditation pleine conscience et qui s’avèrent complémentaires dans la mesure où pour être pleinement conscient, il faut être préalablement pleinement présent. On perçoit avant d’être conscient et non l’inverse. Cet exemple met en avant la place réservée à la perception et à la sensorialité par rapport à la pleine conscience qui privilégie les actes de conscience.

Spécificités conceptuelles de la méditation pleine présence

Pour nous, la perception est le primat de la conscience et non l’inverse, et la notion de présence ne se limite pas à une donnée temporelle (être présent au présent), elle privilégie la dimension relationnelle de la présence. La conscience est de nature cognitive tandis que la présence est de nature relationnelle conférant ainsi à l’acte de conscience une dimension qualitative et humaine. Les spécificités conceptuelles sont multiples et je vous renvoie au livre cité ci-dessus pour en avoir une approche plus exhaustive.

Spécificités paradigmatiques de la méditation pleine présence

Notre approche s’inscrit clairement dans le courant humaniste, les neurosciences éducatives, et la phénoménologie dans la mesure où elle privilégie l’étude de l’expérience vécue par le méditant et l’herméneutique qui en découle (donner du sens à l’expérience vécue). Dans le prolongement de ces différents courants, la méditation pleine présence revendique aussi sa filiation éducative pour accompagner le méditant à déployer ses capacités, ses ressources et ses compétences à apprendre de son expérience immédiate, de sa vie et de la Vie. 

Spécificités expérientielles de la méditation pleine présence

Nous abordons l’expérience sous le prisme du courant humaniste et notamment au niveau de l’empathie, de la bienveillance et de la « tendance actualisante » (Rogers). Il y a en chaque personne un courant inné qui l’entraîne vers la réalisation positive de ses propres possibilités. Mais au-delà de cette dimension importante qui porte l’être humain à exprimer la meilleure version de lui-même, la dimension expérientielle chez nous convoque une connotation forte d’apprentissage : Comment apprendre de l’expérience vécue dans la méditation et comment prolonger dans la vie quotidienne ce qui s’est donné dans la méditation ? 

Nous considérons le mouvement interne comme étant une des manifestations vivante et incarnée de la tendance actualisante. La présence du mouvement interne au cœur de l’expérience vécue par le méditant représente la signature spécifique de la méditation pleine présence MDB.

Spécificités pédagogiques de la méditation pleine présence

Les concepts et les pratiques liées à la dynamique d’apprentissage proposée dans la MPP se retrouvent de façon générique sous le terme Full-Presence Educational Process. La pédagogie du step by step constitue une spécificité de la MPP.

Le caractère progressif de cette pédagogie s’appuie sur un déroulé pédagogique standard prenant le nom de stepping qui est un ensemble de tâches (exercices) à accomplir selon un agencement et une chronologique qui va du plus simple au plus élaboré, recrutant des facultés de plus haut niveau. Ce modèle pédagogique prend en compte le degré d’accessibilité des tâches à accomplir et les capacités naturelles de l’apprenant à les réaliser.

Grille d’évaluation des critères d’accessibilité selon Danis Bois (2022)

Évaluation de la tâche en fonction du degréÉvaluation des capacités de l’apprenant en fonction
De faisabilité (de facile à complexe)
Des critères objectifs et/ou subjectifs
De contrôlabilité ou non
De la mobilisation attentionnelle (de faible à forte)
Du niveau de conscience requis (de faible à élevé)
De la qualité de présence déployée (de faible à élevée)  
De sa capacité à réaliser la tâche seul ou avec de l’aide
De son incapacité à réaliser la tâche même avec de l’aide
De sa flexibilité attentionnelle (faculté d’adaptation à l’exercice)
De sa rapidité à maîtriser la tâche avec de l’aide ou de façon autonome

Comment apprendre à méditer et apprendre de sa méditation ?

Danis Bois, Docteur en sciences de l’éducation, médite depuis plus de 40 ans et est co-auteur du livre « La méditation pleine présence, les 7 voies d’accès à la chaleur humaine » publié chez Eyrolles. Danis Bois anime une méditation hebdomadaire ouverte à toutes les personnes intéressées par la méditation, et dont le thème général, ce trimestre, porte sur « Apprendre à méditer ensemble »

Un nouveau trimestre de méditation débutera le 14 septembre 2022 jusqu’au 7 décembre inclus et les podcasts seront accessibles pendant un an. Vous pourrez vous inscrire directement sur le site méditer en direct avec Danis Bois Navigation des articles

Pour apprendre à méditer pas à pas en 8 semaines, inscrivez-vous au POEBRA dont le prochain débutera le 19 septembre sur ce site. Vous pouvez aussi apprendre à méditer avec un animateur de votre région inscrit au registre.

Laisser un commentaire